Braemar College – Year 10 Work Experience

Our Year 10 Work Experience students were out and about recently trying all sorts of possible career options.

DSC_0436Meg 

For my work experience placement I went to the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission. It was a very enjoyable week and I learnt a lot.

Each day I went to a different department which meant I was exposed to a wide variety of different things. My favourite departments were the legal and communications departments and least favourite was human resources!

Some of the things I did during the week were: visiting VCAT to listen to a hearing, working on the Report Racism Project, designing posters and E-Newsletters for advertising, writing articles for the website, writing notes for the Commissioner to use in her next meeting (definitely the scariest part of the week) and listening to complaints being lodged in the dispute resolutions unit as well as basic administration tasks. I also observed a lot of things the workers did and spent time talking to them about their careers and pathways to their current job.

I learnt that this is an area I would like to do for a career however think I would struggle working at an office desk each day.

Clay

DSC_0435Clay completed his work experience placement at Romsey British Automotive.

On my first day I was shown around the workshop, introduced to the staff and introduced to the safety procedures of the workshop.

The staff made me welcome and I was involved in all of the workshop activities. Then I was introduced to the 1940s Series 2 Defender Jeep that would be my project for the week.

During the next 4 days I removed the engine and began the process of reconditioning the motor. I also worked on a Range Rover Sport. As this was such an expensive car I was very nervous about working on it, But I was given great instruction and soon felt ready to go.

I was given the opportunity to use a wide range of equipment and learnt a lot about what working as a mechanic would be like. I totally enjoyed my experience and am looking at the possibility of starting an automotive apprenticeship in the future.

DSC_0451Sophie

During my week at Triple R I got to create my own radio show demo, sit in on a live show, watch a band play live in the studio, and write and record a community service announcement.

I particularly enjoyed working in the studio, where I learnt how to cue songs, use the microphone, play promos and announcements, and record my show.

On Thursday, I had the exciting opportunity of being able to not only sit in on a live radio show, but to also see a band perform in the studio as well.

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to work in such a friendly and relaxed environment and overall, the week gave me a deeper understanding of how a radio station operates.

DSC_0464Sarah

For work experience I went to Whitehouse institute of design.

Whitehouse is a university for students who want to study design. On my first day there I had a tour around the place and was shown all the different class rooms and sewing rooms.

It started with the boring stuff like making up show bags for their university, putting library books away, and cutting rolls of fabric into sections of two metres. But that didn’t matter because the people that worked there were so friendly and nice.

On my second day I sat in on a 1950’s fashion history lecture. We learnt about the trends and how they evolve and re-occur over and over again.

On my third day I was lucky enough to spend it with the VET Year 11 class and sketched designs for A-line skirts and researched trends in skirts.

On Thursday I cleaned up the teachers’ art supply corner and organised all their tools. I then was able to sit in on an illustration class and draw with their students.

On my last day I was taught how to make a skirt pattern, and was able to make one of my own. To make the week even better I was constantly shouted hot chocolates throughout. I had an amazing time at Whitehouse. Everyone was so lovely and kind to me and made sure I had a great time. I had great experiences there that I’ll never forget.

Coen StrahanCoen

Coen was at the Doherty Institute (a department of the University of Melbourne which studies infectious diseases).

He was involved in culturing cells (growing bacteria), performing live testing on mice to observe bacterial colonisation patterns (in their droppings and in their internal organs), studying immune response in mice, used pipettes, centrifuges and a “Fach” machine (this machine uses fluorescence to identify antibodies interacting with pathogens.

His experience at the University of Melbourne has opened up many possibilities for Coen’s future study.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

owever think I would struggle working at an office desk each day.

Someone

I completed his work experience placement at Romsey British Automotive. On my first day I was shown around the workshop, introduced to the staff and introduced to the safety procedures of the workshop. The staff made me welcomed and I was involved in all of the workshop activities. Then i was introduced to the 1940s Series 2 Defender Jeep that would be my project for the week. During the next 4 days Clay removed the engine and began the process of reconditioning the motor. I also worked on Range Rover Sport as this was such an expensive car I was very nervous about working on it, But I was given great instruction and soon felt ready to go. I was given the opportunity to use a wide range of equipment and learnt a lot about what working as a mechanic would be like. I totally enjoyed my experience and is looking at the possibility of starting an automotive apprenticeship in the future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Work Experience – Triple R

 

During my week at Triple R I got to create my own radio show demo, sit in on a live show, watch a band play live in the studio, and write and record a community service announcement. I particularly enjoyed working in the studio, where I learnt how to cue songs, use the microphone, play promos and announcements, and record my show. On Thursday, I had the exciting opportunity of being able to not only sit in on a live radio show, but to also see a band perform in the studio as well. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to work in such a friendly and relaxed environment and overall, the week gave me a deeper understanding of how a radio station operates.

Leave a Reply

