Year 10 Work Experience – Nicola Fitzgerald

I decided to do my Work Experience at The Victorian Rehab Centre because I was interested in doing something to do with physiotherapy, and thought working in a rehabilitation centre would be very interesting and a bit different to just a regular physio practice.

Fitzgerald, NicolaFor the first few days I just observed physiotherapy sessions, but as the week went on and I got to know some of the patients and their routines I was able to run them through their exercises. I worked with both inpatients and outpatients and also observed some hydrotherapy sessions.

I really liked that I was working with people. Talking to the patients about their different injuries and how physiotherapy had benefited them was very interesting and enjoyable. I think rehab physiotherapy in particular would be a very rewarding career.

Being on my feet all day! It was very tiring but I got used to it by the end of the week.

Completing my work experience definitely helped me to decide whether physiotherapy is a career that I would be interested in pursuing, which it is.

I was able to spend a week in the life of a physiotherapist and get a true insight into exactly what they do and what the job entails. I think being able to complete a weeks work placement is an invaluable experience and is very beneficial.

Nicola Fitzgerald – Year 10

Leave a Reply

